Welding lathe control system

For a project I am designing and building a welding lathe. I am a mechanical engineering student and therefore I have almost zero knowledge about electrical controlling systems (except for Arduino).

The welding lathe needs to be powered by a motor (stepping motor, ac, dc?) and controlled by a system.
The following point are important:

• Motor will drive a shaft by gears with a yet to determine ratio
  • Maximum moment on the shaft is 10 Nm
  • Turning speed of the shaft must be controllable between 1 - 30 t/min
  • The shaft must turn with a precise constant speed if set on the right turning speed (otherwise the weld will be ruined)
  • Turning speed or voltage used (any data for adjusting the speed to the same value used another time) displayed on a display

Can someone help me with achieving these point and come up with a list to buy/how to do it?

Thank you!

I think @4lloyd can help you with this

@4lloyd is it possible for you to help me with the problem?

Of course I can help :slight_smile:. I was abroad this weekend, so unfortunately I could not answer your question earlier.

If I understand your question correctly then next to a constant speed, you also need to be able to exactly position the lathe.

For the prototype/demonstration I would suggest to use a stepper motor or a DC motor with encoder. Both can be controlled by an Arduino. The stepper motor is the easiest option because there are a lot examples available on the internet and the feedback of the encoder can be hard to manage properly. The downside of a stepper motor is that there are small vibrations. These can partially be smoothed with something called “micro stepping”. Most 3D printers use stepper motors and I far as I know the vibrations are not a big problem there.